Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Agroecology Europe is launched

Aarhus University has participated with scientists from 10 different countries in establishing a new European organisation that aims to promote agroecology.

[Translate to English:] En ny europæisk forening til fremme af agroøkologi er stiftet. Foto: Janne Hansen

Agroecology Europe, a new European association to promote agroecology, was created on 27 January 2016 in Graux Estate, Belgium with the participation of 19 founders from 10 countries. Aarhus University is one of the founders.


Agroecology Europe intends to place agroecology high on the European agenda of sustainable development of farming and food systems. It wants to foster interactions between actors in sciences, practices and social movements by facilitating knowledge-sharing and action. It aims to create an inclusive European community of professionals, practitioners, and more generally societal stakeholders in agroecology.


Agroecology Europe is open to all individuals, groups and institutions interested in promoting agroecology, and aims to define its agenda through their participatory engagement. A website is being designed and will be launched soon.


The founders of the association are as follows:


Belgium: Alain Peeters (RHEA Research Centre), Elisabeth Simon (Graux Estate pilot farm), Pierre Stassart (Liège University), Alexis de Liedekerke, Florian Delespesse

Czech Republic: J. Moudrý (University of South Bohemia)

Denmark: Jørgen Eriksen (Aarhus University)

France: Stéphane Bellon (INRA Ecodéveloppement), Alexander Wezel (ISARA-Lyon).

Germany: Maria Finckh (University of Kassel-Witzenhausen), Marcos A. Lana (Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research, ZALF), Sabine Zikeli (University of Hohenheim)

Italy: Paolo Bàrberi (Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna-Pisa), Paola Migliorini (University of Gastronomic Science)

Spain: F. Xavier Sans Serra (Universitat de Barcelona), Eva Torremocha (IFOAM-Organics International)

Sweden: Erik Steen Jensen (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences)

The Netherlands: Jeroen Groot (Wageningen University)

United Kingdom: Michel Pimbert (Coventry University)



A first board has been elected to initiate and steer the development of Agroecology Europe in the next months. Its members are: Stéphane Bellon (President), Alexander Wezel (Vice-President), Alain Peeters (Secretary), Paolo Bàrberi, Paola Migliorini, Eva Torremocha and Sabine Zikeli.


If you would like to express your interest in Agroecology Europe, then you are welcome to send an e-mail to the Secretary at alain.peeters@agroecology-europe.org.


For more information (in Denmark) please contact: Professor Jørgen Eriksen, Department of Agroecology, e-mail: jorgen.eriksen@agro.au.dk, telephone (+45) 8715 7672, mobile: (+45) 5168 0554